Mutual Aid and Protection

1

October 2, 2012 by williamsjustliving

I was once sexually harassed by a student. You may laugh, but it is true. It was a horrible and embarrassing experience. I turned to the internet for comfort and, as I recall, found a statistic saying that around 1 in 3 teachers will be sexually harassed by co-workers or students during their careers. I shared that information with several co-workers, even joking that I’d get a t-shirt made saying “I’m in the 33%.” What I was saying got back to the principal. I was called to the office, and given a proper dressing down for my comments. Being the hardened type that I am, I promptly broke down into tears.

I know now what I didn’t know then. Now I know about something called the National Labor Relations Board, and I know that some actions on the part of a single employee could be termed an attempt to induce group action. My status as government employee affected my standing under the National Labor Relations Act. But, you see, I didn’t even know about a National Labor Relations Act.

These are hard economic times and America is, with a few adjustments here and there, an at-will employment country. But, that doesn’t mean that you have to shut up and endure every single bad circumstance that comes down the pipe. At least now you are better off than I was then. Now you know. I’m not saying that you should go Norma Rae every time the copier breaks down, and I am not saying that you should fight the power without being informed. What I am saying is that now you know that you need to be informed.

One thought on “Mutual Aid and Protection

  1. megsatl says:

    I just formed a mental picture of you beating a fax machine, office space style. lol. great post, unfortunately I too, know very little about the NLRA.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,473 other followers

Other blog posts

Top Posts & Pages

Calendar of posts

October 2012
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  
