Rage 1: Keep Writing

Leave a comment

February 5, 2013 by williamsjustliving

I was so enraged that it took me a moment to collect myself.

Law school can beat the joy of writing out of you: conclusion, rule, explanation,   application, conclusion. Conclusion, rule explanation, application, conclusion. Conclusion, rule, explanation, application, conclusion. Ugh.

And, I didn’t write…for like two years. Not a journal. Not a poem. Not a blog. Not a story. After writing for nearly 25 years straight, I gave it up because I no longer enjoyed the feeling of a pen to paper.

This year, I took my own back. I started blogging. My writing is not perfect, but I’m doing it for myself because I want to and there is no formula. And, finally, I feel good about it again. I like hearing the click-click of my nails as letters spread across my computer screen. I like reading the weird way that I say things. I like the fact that my written voice sounds just like my speaking voice. And, most of all, I like knowing that I don’t have to ever show this to anyone who will give me a look of mixed confusion and sympathy before asking, “Where’s your rule explanation?”

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,473 other followers

Other blog posts

Top Posts & Pages

Calendar of posts

February 2013
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728  
